Best of Barcelona

I used to think teachers had the life – work shorter hours and get the advantage of having all school holidays including the whole summer off!? I never knew, until I began my career as a secondary school guidance counsellor (and teacher), just how badly teachers NEED these holidays. And shorter work days? HA! We never stop working. Constantly planning what we are going to teach in class the next day or the next week, etc. Work never leaves us. My point of saying all of this is: yes, teachers genuinely deserve the holidays they get. And I will admit, it’s an incredible perk of working in a school.

This past February, on our mid-term break, I decided to go to Barcelona for the first time. It was only for 3 nights / 3.5 days, but I can honestly say, to this day, it’s probably the only proper (relaxing) holiday I’ve ever been on. And I had doubts before going – did I really want to go to Barcelona? Whenever I think of a relaxing holiday and my go-to place: it’s Italy. It’s always Italy. I agonised before booking my flight, but in the end, there are no words to describe how happy I am that I went to Barcelona.

IMG_8700

Plaça Reial

IMG_8311

Yurbban Trafalgar’s Rooftop – my home in Barcelona

Dublin in February is pure misery. Barcelona in February; however, (at least the few days I was there) was heavenly. I know, I got really lucky! Though I deserved it, because the Irish rain usually follows me everywhere I go. I never saw a cloud the whole time I was there. It was 17 degrees Celsius with full sun every day, which is my idea of perfect weather (I am not a fan of heat). I stayed in the Yurbban Trafalgar hotel (shoutout to the lovely Nuria at reception!) and I cannot recommend it enough. It was absolute perfection. The location was ideal, the room was modern, beautiful and quiet, the staff were so lovely and helpful, the breakfast made me excited to wake up every morning, they gave free portable wifi devices to take around the city with you (!) and best of all: THE ROOFTOP!! This was the main reason I booked this hotel, because I knew I wanted to spend a good bit of my time relaxing on a rooftop. The view was a panoramic view of the city and you could see all of Barcelona from it. Since I was there in February, it was never crowded. In fact, I was often the only person on the roof (to my delight), but there was never more than a couple others. I spent a lot of time up there relaxing in the sun, defrosting my Irish bones, eating fresh fruit and reading The Penguin Lessons.

IMG_8690IMG_8698

Barcelona is a truly beautiful city and has everything you could ever want – beautiful sights, stunning architecture. friendly people, the beach, unbeatable food and gorgeous weather. I had the best time wandering the lanes and many streets of Barcelona in search of different sights and beautiful meals, but I perfected balancing this with a lot of relaxing downtime in the sun.

IMG_8618

Enjoying the golden hour with La Sagrada Família behind me

IMG_8325

Ceviche at Sabes Una Cosa

IMG_8331

Yurbban’s truly exquisite rooftop

IMG_8327

Part of my breakfast @ Yurbban Trafalgar

IMG_8395

La Sagrada Família

IMG_8670

The famous Pinotxo bar in La Boqueria was my favourite meal (and favourite experience) in BCN

IMG_8464

My seat was reserved for staff, but the kind lady took “pity” on me for being alone and took great care of me.

IMG_8466

Octopus salad – I never liked octopus before having it in BCN!

IMG_8507

Park Güell

IMG_8668

La Boqueria – easily my favourite market I’ve ever been to

IMG_8467

My favourite item at the market – the fresh fruit juices and fresh fruit!

IMG_8468IMG_8469IMG_8470

IMG_8446

Gaudí’s Casa Batlló

IMG_8491

This photo does not do this meal justice, but it was stunning! Pa amb tomàquet (Catalan tomato bread); Escalivada (a Catalan dish: Roasted red pepper, aubergine, onion); Xoriço a la sidra (Chorizo cooked in cider) with a glass of cava @ Vinateria del Call

IMG_8509

Park Güell

IMG_8498

More of Yurbban Trafalgar’s breakfast

IMG_8513

Park Güell

IMG_8628

Suís con xurros at the famous Granja M. Viader – the richest hot chocolate I’ve ever had in my life! There was a queue out the door for this place and when I was there, I didn’t see another tourist, locals only.

IMG_8531

Park Güell

IMG_8530

Park Güell

IMG_8540

Park Güell

IMG_8547

Park Güell

IMG_8566

Park Güell

IMG_8587

Passeig del Born

IMG_8616

Golden hour on the rooftop

IMG_8569

Park Güell

IMG_8590

El Born

IMG_8591

IMG_8594

El Born

IMG_8597

Plaça Reial

IMG_8652

Plaça Reial

IMG_8682

Five constructions workers enjoying their siesta

IMG_8686

Don’t know what happened to my camera the last few hours I was in BCN; however, this lovely meal was pimientos de padrón, patatas bravas and cava sangria @ Bar Lobo

Next up: My adventures in Prague, Slovenia and Tuscany!

Leave a Reply

